#MusicPH - Any Name’s Okay navigates the growing pains of adulthood in new EP, Leaving Home

The long-awaited sophomore EP from Filipino alternative pop group Any Name's Okay, Leaving Home, has now been released by Sony Music Philippines. The 6-track release delves deeper into the path of navigating adulthood and embracing the uncertainty that comes with the process, marking a significant advancement in terms of musical and artistic direction.

“As a band, we’re maturing in our songwriting and the way that we operate as creatives,” shares the five-piece outfit. “We want to grow old with our listeners—which can be scary, but very exciting. A lot of those fears and joys can be found in this collection of songs.”

The band's latest EP, Leaving Home, expands on introspective and existential themes in the lyrics; occasionally, these themes are expressed in emotionally jarring details, but most of the time, they show some of the growing pains that people go through as they approach adulthood. The promising newcomer explains, “We’ve all been through the wringer the last few years, and this was a much-needed emotional release for everyone. We believe that a thorough listen of the EP, however, still shows that same heart, energy, and sincerity that people have come to know of us.”

The EP's focal track, "Takbo," is one of the best songs since it discusses overcoming burnout and hustle culture's socioeconomic exhaustion. The band claims that the song is all about running for the sake of running: playing with the idea of sore muscles and rigorous sports, with no real destination or goal. Any Name's Okay notes that while the song is a dedication to the exhausted and tireless self, the reprise at the end is dedicated to hope—the belief that this is all for a reason and that you get stronger the more you run.

The release of the song comes with a visual that encapsulates the feeling of weightlessness in all that running. Helmed by Miko Reyes, the music video depicts “a person floating in and out of their world.” The Yugto band adds, “Familiar to a lot of us, we can feel lost even in the happiest of places. Similar to the track itself, the end shows that there is a point to all the running; it just takes a bit of time to recognize it.”

Leaving Home is written and produced by Any Name’s Okay themselves, but with the help of their long-time pal, Luigi Del Rosario for one of their singles, “Limbo.” Frequent collaborator Tim Recla and Nick Azurin also mixed and mastered all the songs in the EP, respectively, giving it a more gossamer-sounding vibe. 

Leaving Home Track list:

1. Yugto

2. Snooze

3. Limbo

4. Takbo

5. Today I Want To Live

6. Discovery

The EP launch happening on August 20, 2022 at Dirty Kitchen (Gravity Art Space), Quezon City is already sold out. But for those who would be joining the band as they perform the tracks from the EP live, you’re in for a treat. 

“We’ve prepared some secret performances that you’ll just have to wait and see,” says Any Name’s Okay. “Showgoers will be getting first dibs on our brand-new merchandise, as well as get the chance to join our giveaways. We’re definitely doing our best to make the launch equally as exciting for everyone there!”

Any Name’s Okay’s second EP, Leaving Home is out now on all digital music platforms worldwide via Sony Music Philippines. Watch the music video of its focus track “Takbo” here.

You can follow me on TwitterInstagram, Tiktok and Facebook!
Subscribe to my YouTube Channel.
Thank you!

DISCLAIMER: All content provided on this blog is for informational purposes only. The owner of this blog makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site or found by following any link on this site. The pictures or videos posted here doesn't necessarily mean that it's the owner's property. The owner will not be liable for any errors or omissions in this information nor for the availability of this information. The owner will not be liable for any losses, injuries, or damages from the display or use of this information. 


Popular Posts